Another Whole 30 – Days 1-5

So I’m five days into a new round of the Whole 30 and feeling so much better already. I work at a tax firm and this last tax season kicked my butt. Crazy hours and binge peanut M&M eating (along with other unhealthy food choices) left me a tired and a digestionally uncomfortable wreck. A co-worker, my mother and I decided that after April 15th was over, it was time to get back down to business. So last Monday we got on it.
To anyone unfamiliar with the program, the Whole 30 is a great way to restart your system and make healthy-eating choices really apart of your life. Some may be intimidated by the restrictions and think, “What am I going to eat?”, “This is going to be expensive!”, or “It’s going to take too much time to cook all my meals.” But it can be so much simpler than you think. I try to keep my meals simple and quick. Some do take extra time, but those recipes normally make enough servings to stretch over a few days, so I’m not cooking as much on other days. Here’s what I’ve been eating the last few days…

Day One
Breakfast
1/4 c almonds
1 banana

Lunch
Tarragon Chicken Salad
Green Salad with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar

Snack
Tangerine

Dinner
Against All Grain cookbook Citrus Cumin Chicken
Grilled Cabbage & Onions
Steamed Artichokes
image (1)

Day Two
Breakfast
Homemade sausage (followed the recipe, but used half ground pork and half ground turkey)
Sweet potato
Scrambled egg

Lunch
Against All Grain cookbook Sausage Quiche with Sweet Potato Crust
Green Salad with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar
image

Dinner
Chicken Sausage
Steamed Broccoli
Tropical Cauliflower Rice
This was a true moment of inspiration because not only did my mom and I love it, my non-paleo loving dad did as well! Win!
16 oz bag of frozen Cauliflower, cooked and riced (I put mine in a mini food processor and run it until it has the consistency I’m looking for)
1/4 large Red Onion, diced
1/2 cup diced pineapple (set on a paper towel for a few minutes to get rid of the excess liquid)
1/2 roasted Poblano, diced
1/4 cup chopped Cilantro
Salt to taste

Add all ingredients to a bowl and toss.

photo

Snack
Smashed banana with cinnamon and sunflower seeds

Day Three
Breakfast
Trail mix of almonds, cashews & raisins (I forgot to pack a breakfast before heading to work. Emergency stash of mix to the rescue!)

Lunch
Balanced BitesSmokey Mexican Tortilla(less) Soup
photo (1)

Snack
Cucumbers

Dinner
Against All Grain cookbook Korean Beef Noodle Bowls
photo 1

Day Four
Breakfast
Blackberries
Against All Grain cookbook Sausage Quiche with Sweet Potato Crust

Lunch
Taco Salad of Romaine Lettuce, Taco seasoned Ground Beef, half and Avocado and diced Red Onions, Tomatoes and Yellow Bell Pepper. Topped with some simple Homemade Salsa.

Dinner
Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk over stir-fried sliced cabbage
photo

Day Five
Breakfast
Banana, Almond Butter & Almond Milk Smoothie

Lunch
Balanced BitesSmokey Mexican Tortilla(less) Soup

Dinner
***WARNING***WARNING***WARNING*** The following is not a Whole 30 Approved meal (but a great example of how a lack of planning and poor will gets you every time)
I went out with friends to Norco’s Horse Week and the dinner menu included food trucks. I thought I could probably get a bunless burger, but that all went out the window when I saw this….
photo 1
I couldn’t resist! Who passes up a truck full of bacon??????
So dinner was fries covered in pulled pork & bacon topped with Carolina slaw and chipotle mayo.
photo 3

An amazing dinner, but back on the wagon the next morning!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

