Chocolate!

During the Whole 30, I didn’t crave licorice or donuts or sugary cereals. I didn’t crave cookies or cupcakes. The one sweet I did have a hankering for every now and then though was chocolate! I am a huge dark chocolate fan. For the health benefits of course 😉
Since really good dark chocolate is A-OK when you’re following a paleo lifestyle, I’ve taken a few opportunities to reunite with this long lost friend since I finished my thirty days.

Chocolate Raspberries
IMG_7571[1]
I have been seeing this on Pinterest for a while though. Ingenious! Hello? What else would that little pocket in the berry be for????

PaleOMG’s Triple Chocolate Truffles
IMG_7585[1]
These were AMAZING! I loved them, my kids loved them (especially the 2-year old) and the party of unsuspecting guest gobbled them up. They were snatched up so fast there were actually people who didn’t even get to try them! I guess I’ll have to make a double batch next time! It may seem like a lot of steps, but it was pretty easy. And sometimes, things this delicious need to be a lot of steps so we don’t make them every day. In the words of Michael Pollan, “Treat your treats as a treat.”

Chocolate Banana Bliss Smoothie
I made for breakfast this morning and seriously almost felt naughty for it. I think it’s the dark chocolate cocoa powder. For whatever reason, it was decadent, but not laying down on the job for delivering nutrients. I counted and found that it had 12 grams of protein. Plenty to keep me satisfied until my mid-morning snack. It was also a great time to try out some Sunflower Seed Butter. I bought some the other day and use it in place of peanut for a Thai-like sauce on my stir fry as well. It was great in this smoothie because it is incredibly creamy and smooth.

Whoever says this way of life is restrictive, clearly doesn’t know much about all the real food possibilities there are in the world. Because when I have food that is like this, things that are satisfying my sweet tooth and being good to my body, I don’t feel restricted at all!

Leave a Reply

