Balsamic & Fig Roasted Chicken

I love the clearance bin at my supermarket. Hmm. Actually I love the clearance bin at any store I go to, but the one at the supermarket can frequently push me to try new things I might not have otherwise tried due to price. When something is marked way down, I don’t fear wasting money on something that could potentially be a little yucky. Enter this recipe. I know I like figs. I know I like chicken. But tossing them together, using no recipe, might not have struck me if the tray of figs weren’t going for the super low price of $1. It’s times like these when inspiration strikes. While the chicken was cooking, I also threw together some yummy Garlic Green Beans & Mushrooms to go with it.

Balsamic & Fig Roasted Chicken
IMG_7412[1]
2 T Coconut Oil
2 Chicken Breasts
6 Figs, sliced
Salt & Pepper
Balsamic Vinegar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Heat coconut oil in a large cast iron pan, or other oven safe pan, over medium-high heat. (You could always cook it in a non-oven safe pan, then transfer it to a baking dish if you had to. Anyone who thinks cast iron is too much of a pain because of the extra attention you have to give it when cleaning, get over it. Cast iron is amazing and totally worth it.)
Salt & pepper your chicken, then place in the pan. Let sear for about 2-3 minutes, then flip them and sear for another 2-3 minutes. When both sides are a beautiful goldeny brown color, turn off the heat. Toss in the sliced figs, making sure to get plenty of them on the chicken. Then pour 2 tablespoons- 1/4 cup of vinegar all over everything. Place in the oven and bake for 40 minutes, flipping half way through. Make sure when you flip them to place some of the figs back on the chicken.

And while that’s baking……

Garlic Green Beans & Mushrooms
1/2 lb Green Beans, trimmed & cut in about 1 inch pieces
1/2 c Mushrooms, chopped
2-3 cloved Garlic, minced
Coconut Oil
Salt & Pepper

Heat 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil in a medium pan over medium-high heat. Put beans in the pan and saute for 10 minutes. Add the mushrooms and garlic and continue sauteing for another 10 minutes. Salt & pepper to taste.

Variations: Next time I prepare this meal, I’d probably add some shredded basil on top of the chicken and slivered almonds on top of the beans.

When you plate your food, make sure the pour the yummy juices from the bottom of the chicken pan all over. That’s the good stuff!

Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

