5 Day Wrap Up – Days 16-20

I’m in the stretch! Only ten more days to go and feeling fine! Here’s what I’ve been eating the last few days (definitely check out the salsa recipe link!):

Day 16
Breakfast
Almonds
Raisins
Orange Spice Coffee
(I needed to go grocery shopping desperately!)

Lunch
Bad Lunch. I was on the go, running errands, hadn’t packed my lunch and stopped in at Trader Joe’s super quick to grab something. Super quick it was not because I had to read the labels on everything and put everything I picked up back because it was not Whole 30-approved. With the clock ticking, I grabbed the item with the least offensive ingredients. It was the Trader Joe’s Curried White Chicken Salad, which contained sugar in the chiken itself and the raisins. Although it was off the program, it was delicious and I’m totally going to try and make it at home without the offending ingredients.

Snack
Apple

Dinner
IMG_7326[1]<
Greek Seasoned Chicken topped with homemade Babganoush
Balsamic-marinated tomatoes and cucumbers over greens
Baked Yam

Day 17
Breakfast
IMG_7328[1]
My Big Girl and I set out early this day to run some errands. After dropping the pooch off at her vet appointment, we stopped by Starbucks for a little Mommy-Daughter-Special time. With limited choices for me, I went with an Orange-Spiced Iced Coffee, banana & little back of Nuts&Fruits trail mix. The bummer was, again, the dried fruit had sugar. The crazy thing is my raisins at home I buy from the supermarket have no sugar. Why does everyone else insist on it?

Lunch
IMG_7340[1]
I basically took my dinner from the previous night and turned it into a salad.
Greens
Chicken
Babaganoush
Balsamic-Marinated Tomatoes & Cucumbers

Snack
Cinnamon sprinkled over Banana & Almond Butter

Dinner
Oh man, this was awesome. And not only did it look awesome, and I thought it tasted awesome, the WHOLE family raved about it! The two year old, the five year old, and my husband even posted it onto Instagram (This never happens).
IMG_7353[1]

Plantain Tostadas
Plantain Shell
Seasoned Ground Beef
Homemade Salsa (I finally got my mom’s recipe and made some of my own!)
Salad of Greens, Tomatoes & Cucumbers with Salsa on top
Next time I make this, I’m definitely going to have to use some gaucamole as the first layer. Without something sticky on the bottom (traditionally refried beans), the meat tended to fall off and I ended up bending it like a taco to eat it.

Day 18
Breakfast
IMG_7356[1]
2 Eggs scrambled with some of last night’s Tostada Meat
Yam
Salsa

Lunch
Same salad from yesterday

Snack
Mixed Raw Nuts
Carrots

Dinner
Went over to my sister-in-law’s for dinner. There was quite a spread, so I had plenty to pick from.
2 Sausages
Green Salad
Marinated Tomatoes, Cucumbers and Carrots

Day 19
Breakfast
Same as yesterday

Lunch
Same as yesterday (trying to get that fridge cleaned out!)

Snack
Mixed Raw Nuts
Carrots

Dinner
I wasn’t feeling well. Fighting some kind of sinus thing. All I wanted to do was lay on the couch and relax. So I poured a glass of OJ and had a banana and Almond Butter

Day 20
Breakfast
Day three of the same thing. Love this breakfast! I don’t know if it’s the yam, the flavor from the taco meat of the magical salsa, but it’s truly a great breakfast!

Lunch
Out running errands and was out a lot longer than anticipated. The girls were getting hungry and antsy, begging for a lunch spot with a Playland so we ended up at (eek!) Burger King. I figured there would be some kind of salad that wouldn’t be too horrible. I ordered the Apple Cranberry Chicken Salad. When I opened it, it was covered in Blue Cheese! The menu said nothing about Blue Cheese. And it’s not exactly the kind of cheese you can easily pick off. Not being the a total state of starvation, I decided to close it up and take is home to the hubby.
When I got home it was close to 2 and I was planning on going to a party at 4, so not wanting to ruin my appetite I just munched on some Mixed Raw Nuts and Carrots.

Dinner
I went to my cousin’s farewell dinner. There was quite a spread, but mostly unapproved foods. The funny thing is, I think now at Day 20, things have certainly changed. Instead of seeing all the food and thinking, “Man, all that looks so good and I can’t have any.” I was thinking more, “Man, there really isn’t a lot here that I WANT.” The difference being, I didn’t want any of the chips, cookies, bread, etc. But I WAS hungry. So I ended up eating a lot of berries, watermelon, snap peas and carrots. The main course was pulled pork, which I did have a scoop of. The sweet sauce was a no-no, but I figured when breaking the rules, the meat course is the most acceptable place to do it.

So, the last five days have probably been my worst in the rule-breaking arena, but I have definitely felt a total change in my taste buds. Being that it had been a couple weeks since I had processed sugar, when I did encounter it in the chicken salad and pulled pork, they tasted SUPER sweet. The chicken salad especially. I’m really excited because my sugar cravings were a big reason I started this, and I feel like I’m getting to a place when it’s no longer going to be an issue. Yeah!

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

