5 Day Wrap Up – Days 11-15

I made it through another five days! Yeah! I’m officially half way through and can’t believe how fast it’s gone. A program I thought would be a true challenge has turned out to be easy, satisfying, and gotten me back in my favorite room of the house in full swing! My left hand may have some complaints. With the additional time spent preparing my own food, my left hand has suffered quite a few nicks, cuts and slices! With a full pack of band-aids in the medicine cabinet though, I’m ready to rock the rest of this Whole 30!
Here’s what I’ve been eating the last five days:
Day 11
Breakfast
Baked Yam
Scrambled Egg
Strawberries
Snack
Almonds
Lunch
Leftover Chicken Ratatouille
Snack
Cucumbers
Carrots
Dinner
Taco Salad
Lettuce, Seasoned Ground Turkey, Avocado, Tomatoes, Salsa
Snack
Almond Butter
Banana
Day 12
Breakfast
Mmmmm……One of my favorite breakfasts so far:
IMG_7289[1]
Baked Yam
2 Scrambled Eggs with the last of the Taco Meat
Salsa (seriously, this fresh salsa would make anything my favorite meal)
Snack
Cucumbers
Carrots
Sweet Peppers
Lunch
Chicken Ratatouille
Snack
Almonds
Dinner
IMG_7297[1]
I don’t even know what to call this. It started as sautéed onions and eggplant with some cumin and transformed into something otherworldly. Like a lot of my creations, it’s totally inspired by my lack of ingredients and incredible need to go grocery shopping. I work well under pressure. We’ll call it:
Mexican Mess with Baked Eggs
Serves 1-2 (I ate it all. But you could serve it with a salad or yams and share it)
½ Onion, diced
½ eggplant, cubed
Corn from one cob, raw
1 Jalapeño, minced
1 Tomato, juicy as heck, diced, reserve juices
2 Eggs
1-2 t Cumin, depending on your taste. I love the stuff
Salt & Pepper
Coconut Oil
Heat coconut oil in a medium cast iron (or other oven safe) pan over medium-high heat. Sauté onion until translucent. Add eggplant and sauté for 4-5 minutes, until is starts to soften. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and half the cumin. Add the corn and jalapeno and sauté for another 5 minutes. Throw in the tomato and all the juice from the cutting board. As the tomato warms up it will release even more juice. After a few minutes, there will be enough liquid to actually cause the food to boil. When this happens, lower the temperature and simmer for 10 minutes.
After simmering, turn off the fire. Let it sit for a couple minutes, then try and make two wells in the mixture. Not totally necessary if you can’t get it to work. Crack an egg in each well and bake in a 400-degree over for 15-20 minutes.
When it’s done, let it cool for a few minutes, then transfer to a plate and top with salsa, avocadoes, cilantro, whatever you want.
Eating this was amazing. I wasn’t trying for it, but it came out tasting like a total comfort food in my family: Tamale Pie! A truly pleasant surprise!
Day 13
Breakfast
Chopped Tomatoes
2 Fried Eggs
Snack
Strawberries
Lunch
Greens
Tuna
Cucumbers
Carrots
Apple Cider Vinegar Dressing
Snacks
Ants on a Log! (With almond butter)
Dinner
I made the Mexican Mess again for my husband to try
Day 14
Breakfast
Almond Butter
Banana
Peppermint Green Tea
Lunch
Went to my mom’s for lunch and had this awesome stuff there. She describes it as a Greek Ratatouille, but it’s called Briam
She was looking for a recipe to use the fresh okra she grew in her garden that didn’t involve breading it and frying it. It was a great find! In addition to the vegetables, I mixed some ground turkey in to get a little protein.
Snack
Ants on a Log
Dinner
So, I’m going to bring up something totally unglamorous about the Whole 30. Or any time really when you dramatically change your diet. Your gut hates change! And I was feeling that a little bit this evening so I just had a little bit of homemade chicken bone broth I had made earlier in the day with some salt, pepper and fresh parsley. It definitely hit the spot and I woke up the next day with no troubles. If you’ve never made bone broth before it’s super easy to do. I used the bones from the Lemon Rosemary Chicken and all the seasonings from that made my home smell amazing as it cooked. If you cook a whole chicken for dinner, but don’t think you’ll be able to make broth in the next few days, just bag up the bones in a freezer bag and freeze them until you have the time.
IMG_7302[1]
I make my broth really simple:
Onion, quartered
2 Carrots, broken in half
2 Celery stalks, broken in half
Bones from 1 whole Chicken
Put everything in a large pot and cover with water, up until about an inch from the top. Bring to a boil, than simmer for at least four hours.
I’ve known people who have also done this in the slow cooker with great results. Also, if you’re chicken wasn’t heavily seasoned, definitely throw some herbs in.
IMG_7306[1]
Day 15
Breakfast
I call this Ants on a Log Dip
2 T Almond Butter
almost a ¼ c Raisins
2 T ground Flax Seed
Mix everything together. Dip with Celery.
Snack
Almonds
Lunch
Ralph’s Salad Bar
Greens
Sliced Peppered Turkey
Sweet Peppers
Beets
Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil
Dinner
Tilapia Cakes (when I made them before, I was too impatient to cook all the mixture and stopped cooking as soon as I had enough to eat. I then bagged and froze the rest. A great no prep dinner!)
Shredded Red Cabbage drizzled with fresh Lime Juice

This was the first night where I just wasn’t craving my nightly sweet-fix of banana and almond butter. I guess I’m over it. But the funny thing is, I wasn’t craving any other sweet. I think this program really is working! Woohoo!
I’ve really been trying hard to use up all my leftovers and produce before they go bad. I’m super bad at wasting food! That said, I cannot wait to go grocery shopping either and stocking up so I can try my hand at some new stuff this week!

Leave a Reply

