5 Day Wrap Up – Days 6-10

Another five days done! I have to admit, after the first five days, it wasn’t very satisfying to say, “Yeah! I’m a sixth of the way through!” A third of the way through on the other hand feels great! Especially because I’m really feeling the effects of having more energy and feeling a lot lighter. Like I’m not carrying a ton of yuck around in my gut! I’m also having a lot of fun experimenting with new recipes and pretty much eating a ton of my mom’s tomatoes!
Here’s what I did:

Day 6

Breakfast

IMG_7204[1]

Friday, I was sitting around, happily on the Whole 30, when suddenly I thought, “Why have I not had any bacon yet???”  Hello, that’s like the best part of the whole paleo/Whole 30 thing, right?  BACON!  So I picked some up and Saturday morning was good.

3 strips of Peppered Bacon

2 Fried Eggs

Handful of Red Grapes (that were delicious and $0.88 a pound!)

Lunch

IMG_7206[1]

Again, another magical meal.  With leftover tilapia in the fridge, I pondered what to make.  Hello!  Tilapia cakes!  What a great way to get your seafood fix.  It was a team effort.  My mom made the amazing Mango Salsa and I did the cakes. 

Romaine Lettuce (used as a kind of taco-ish shell)

2 Tilapia Cakes (I alteres the recipe to make it Whole 30-friendly by using almond meal instead of breadcrumbs (which, by the way, is not as absorbant as breadcrumbs I see now in hidsight, so be careful, they’re a little unstable.  Just pack them as tightly as you can.), and I cooked them longer on each side, maybe 5 minutes, to get that golden brown look)

Lots of Mango Salsa

Snack

2 T almond Butter

Banana

Dinner

Saturday night I went over to my girlfriend’s house for a little Ladies Night In.  I thought it was going to just be snackies, but was pleasantly surprised that after snacks we were getting treated to steak for dinner!  Mmmmmm……

Steak with Salt & Pepper

Broiled Broccoli

Day 7

Breakfast

IMG_7212[1]

With half a pack of bacon in the fridge, I had to take care of that….

Sliced Tomatoes

Half an Avocado

2 slices of crumbled Bacon

4 small Sweet Peppers sliced (a kind of pepper confetti to go over the stack)

Lunch

The last of the Meatballs

Medium Refresher from Juice It Up (an afternoon treat for the girls after church.  Not the refresher.  They’d hate that.  They got a banana smoothie that Carly promptly sucked down and then wondered why she couldn’t stop coughing.)

Dinner

I snagged a Lemon Rosemary Whole Chicken from the Fresh & Easy clearance bin earlier that day.  It was amazing.  The flavors were incredibly intense and tasty.  After we all had our share for dinner.  I picked it apart and saved the meat for a future meal and the bones to make some bone broth later in the week. 

Steamed Broccoli

Baked Yam

Snack

Strawberries

Almond Butter (this is becoming my “sweets” replacement for sure!)

Day 8

Breakfast

Homemade Orange-Spiced Coffee

Almond Butter (super bad breakfast, but I was in a hurry!)

Snack

Baby Carrots

Lunch

Can of Tuna mixed with ½ an avocado and chopped tomato (FYI this was not the prettiest thing I’ve made, but I’d heard of using avocado instead of mayo because it’s creamy.  It totally worked.  But would have like maybe a squeeze of lemon to perk it up a bit.)

Celery

Snack

Almond

Cucumbers

Dinner

IMG_7239[1]

Chicken Ratatouille

This was a great meal!  And really simple and inexpensive because I used an eggplant a co-worker brought to the office (which then inspired the idea of this meal), my mom’s tomatoes, onions and zucchini which I already had, and the leftover Lemon Rosemary Chicken.  Here’s how I did it:

1 medium Onion, chopped
3 cloves Garlic, minced
1 Eggplant, diced into bite sized pieces
1 Zucchini, diced into bite sized pieces
3-5 really ripe & juicy Tomatoes, diced into bite sized pieces
Cooked Chicken, shredded (I had about 4c worth, but you can put as much as you’d like. You Can even make it vegetarian and substitute garbanzo beans)
Handful of shredded Basil
Olive Oil
Put 3-4 T Olive oil into a pot over Medium heat. Once warmed, add onions. Cook for 7-10 minutes, until browned. Add garlic and sauté for another 2-3 minutes. Then add eggplant and zucchini. Saute for another 7-10 minutes, or until the eggplant starts to brown and soften. Add tomatoes. Keep on medium heat until the tomatoes create enough liquid that the pot begins to boil. Then turn the heat down and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the chicken and basil and simmer another 10 minutes.
A great one pot meal!

Day 9

Breakfast

Orange-Spiced Coffee

Baked Yam (leftover)

Steamed Broccoli (leftover)

2 Fried Eggs

Lunch

Taco Salad Bar at Work!  We’re participating in the American Heart Association Heart Walk in September, and I put together this lunch as a fundraiser for the cause.  We raised $50 and had a great lunch!

IMG_7249[1]

Lettuce, Seasoned Ground Turkey, Tomatoes, Avocado, Jalapenos & my mom’s BOMB Salsa

Snack

Almonds

Dinner

IMG_7255[1]

Portobello Pizza Boats

This was super easy since I just used the leftover Chicken Ratatouille as the topping. I set the oven to 400 degrees, greased a pan with olive oil and brushed a little on the tops of the mushrooms. Then I placed them top side down on the pan and filled them with the ratatouille. I placed them in the oven, baked for 30 minutes, took them out and topped with shredded basil. Another great, quick and easy meal. And pretty impressive-looking! My husband even enjoyed it.

Day 10

Breakfast

½ Avocado

Sliced Bell Peppers

Fried Eggs

Fresh Salsa

Snack

Baby Carrots

Lunch

Lunch on the Go!  Ralph’s supermarket Salad Bar

Greens

Roasted Chicken

Peppadew Peppers (I had no idea what they were when I saw them, I thought they were tiny roasted red bell peppers, but was pleasantly surprised!  I think I’ve found a new food obsession!!!)

Bell Peppers

Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil

Dinner

My Favorite Summer Meal

IMG_7274[1]

Steak

Baked Yam

Salad

Corn on the Cob

I’m pretty stoked because after sharing how well I’ve done so far with a friend, she wants to try! We’re going shopping and doing a dinner this Sunday. I can’t wait to see her results!

Leave a Reply

