5 Day Wrap Up – Days 1-5

This week I started the Whole 30 program.  It’s been really great.  I’d been off the healthy eating wagon and even though I know wheat/gluten reeks havoc on my digestive system, I’d even been eating that!  My gut had gotten bloated an inflamed, I was sluggish, my shoulder pain had come back (due to the inflamed gut), and I just felt disgusting.  May-July contains a lot of birthdays and holidays and I really embraced it!  But, knowing how food affects me, I knew I needed to do something.  Enter the Whole 30.

Monday morning I got up, snapped some pictures and weighed myself.  I’m all about the Before & After.  I can’t wait to post them at the end!

Here’s what I’ve been eating this week:

Day 1

Breakfast

Coffee with Coconut Milk

Banana

I also packed a Hard-Boiled Egg.  Now, I can’t stand eggs in this fashion, but really wish I did.  They’re so convienent!  So I thought on this journey I’d make becoming a Hard-Boiled Egg eater a side goal.  I looked at that egg on my whole drive to work, dreading my future. When I got to work, I just couldn’t do it!  I ended up chopping it up and putting it in my salad at lunch.  Baby steps!

Lunch

Salad of Greens, Tuna, Tomatoes, Hard-Boiled Egg, Cucumbers, Avocado

Homemade dressing of 2 T Olive Oil, 2 t Apple Cider Vinegar and a squeeze of Lemon with some Salt & Pepper

Yerba Mate Mint Tea

Snack

Small Apple & 1/4 c Raw Almonds

Dinner

IMG_7047[1]

Spaghetti Squash & Meatballs (This is a simple and quick paleo meatball recipe I think will be my standby from now on)

Sauteed Veggies

Raw Tomato & Basil Sauce

I made the sauce by chopping up a large and super ripe tomato from my mom’s garden.  I put that in a bowl with a handful of chopped basil, a clove of minced garlic, and a drizzle of olive oil.  Then sprinkled a little salt & pepper.  I let it site while the meatballs cooked.  The tomato was so juicy and ripe it made plenty of liquid for the squash and meatballs.

Day 2

Breakfast

Coffee with Coconut Milk

Banana

Lunch

Leftover Spaghetti & Meatballs

Yerba Mate Mint Tea

Snack

Small Apple & 1/4 c Raw Almonds

Dinner

IMG_7053[1]

Lemon Pepper Baked Chicken (chicken breasts drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with Lemon Pepper seasoning.  I use the Pampered Chef rub because it doesn’t have any MSG, wheat or sugar like you can find in lots of seasonings.)

Sauteed Sweet Onions & Asparagus

Baked Yam

Day 3

Breakfast

IMG_7056[1]

My day off!  I actually made myself a decent breakfast!

Coffee & Coconut Milk

2 Fried Eggs on top of last night’s leftover Onions & Asparagus and Tomato slices

Lunch

IMG_7062[1]

Salad of Greens, Tuna, Tomatoes, Hard-Boiled Egg, Cucumbers & Lemon Apple Cider Vinegar Dressing

Yerba Mate Mint Tea

Snack

Almonds

Dinner

I went over to my mom’s for a Pampered Chef home party and they made some BBQ Chicken Sliders, which are TOTALLY off the list on this program.  Fortunately my sweet mother made these great Guacamole Salad Lettuce Wraps.  So tasty I smuggled out a cup of it to put on my salad the next day!  The original recipe comtains beans, but my mother left them out to adhere to the program (she’s doing it too!).

Day 4

Breakfast

Coffee & Coconut Milk

1/4 c Raw Almonds

Lunch

Leftover Lemon Pepper Chicken & Avocado Salad over Greens

Peppermint Green Tea (1 bag of Peppermint Tea and 1 bag of Green Tea steeped together and cooled.  So refreshing for summer!)

Snack

Cucumbers

Dinner

IMG_7179[1]

Coconutty Almond Tilapia with Lemony Kale Salad (This recipe is super simple, really tasty, and great if you’re new to eating fish like I am)

Baked Yam

Evening

I’m having sinus issues and read that Apple Cider Vinegar is a good home remdy for it.  Among other things, this wonder liquid aids in killing bacteria and infection.  So I mixed 2 t Apple Cider Vinegar with 1 c Grapefruit Juice.  The site I went on instructed to drink it three times a day.  I hope its fast-acting!

Day 5

Breakfast

I’m starting to feel the effects of eating well all week.  I actually woke up this morning not dreading getting out of my nice, cozy bed!  I got up at a decent time, did some chores, then started preparing my breakfast and lunch before getting ready for work.

IMG_7186[1]

I started by slicing some sweet onions and sauteing them in some coconut oil.  After a few minutes, they were transparent and I threw in some diced mushrooms.  After the two of them looked nice and browned, I added the last 1 cups of last night’s Kale salad.  It came as a bagged mix with shreds of carrots and red cabbage.  Great for color.  When the kale had wilted down, I put it on top of half a baked yam from last night also.  Then fried up a couple eggs and stacked them on top.  Amazingly delicious and only took about 10 minutes.

I also had a glass of ACV Grapefruit Juice and a cup of Coffee & Coconut Milk when I got to work.

Lunch

Greens with chopped up leftover Lemon Pepper Chicken, tomatoes and leftover Lemony Dressing from last night’s kale salad.

Peppermint Green Tea

Snack

1/4 Raw Almonds & a Banana

Dinner

I had some serious leftovers in the fridge piling up, so I got to work!

Spaghetti Squash & Meatballs from Monday with a homemade tomato sauce.  Just some sauteed onions and garlic with 6-8 of my mom’s plum tomatoes and basil from the garden.  About halfway through simmering it I added the meatballs so they could soak up some flavor and a shredded zucchini because I wasn’t up for dirtying another pan in order to get some green.

Dessert

It was Friday!  I had to have some kind of treat, right?

IMG_7191[1]

I sliced a banana, then sandwiched some almond butter between two.  After they were assembled in the dish, I sprinkled cinnamon over them and put in the freezer for a couple hours.  Delish!

As you can see, I try to keep it very simple and quick.  I like using leftovers and not doing anything complicated.  Sure, it’s not as quick as a bowl of cereal or a bagel, but it’s also not filling my gut, and the rest of my body, with toxins and inflammation.  Oh yeah, and it’s DELICIOUS!

So far I’m feeling really good.  The only bummer is its Friday and I’d love to have an adult beverage to celebrate the end of another work week, but I’ll just have to fantasize about how great I’ll be looking and feeling on day 30.

Next on my list is making a quick to-go breakfast for work days and some homemade, Whole 30 approved mayo.  I saw a recipe for bacon deviled eggs that I’m hoping will help me on my hard-boiled egg quest!

Have a great weekend!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

